The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

For me, the holidays are truly the most wonderful time of the year. Here are a few reasons why:

  1. I am always thrilled when winter break arrives, because it means I have four entire weeks to regroup, reevaluate, recharge and RELAX. No school means I am able to take a step back from the insanity of my semester schedule and enjoy much-needed “Kayla” time. What is this Kayla time I speak of? Mostly, it involves sleeping. Lots and lots of sleeping. And movie watching. And discovering new music. And a doing a bit of reading. And some dancing. But pretty much, it’s a bunch of sleeping. Mr. Sandman is my best friend.
  2. I also enjoy reconnecting with dear friends, whether we chat over coffee or embark on adventurous trips to the Big Apple! I’m very much excited to take on NYC again with my buddy, Mitchell, next weekend!
  3. The main reason for my love of the holidays boils down to one thing: family. Because many of my relatives live far away, this is the one time of year I can truly enjoy spending time with my loved ones (and what a time we have!). Our days are full of gift-giving and our nights are full of movie marathons, and laughter punctuates every conversation. We all cherish the love we have for one another, and we celebrate the true meaning of Christmas. It is truly the most wonderful time of the year.
Now that the craziness of Christmas 2011 has subsided and the visiting relatives have returned to their respective homes, I reflect on the wonderful memories that we created this year. I am so blessed to have such a caring family. May Christmas 2012 be equally as wonderful!  
Leave a Reply

