Early One Evening at the Rainbow Bar & Grille

I just got cast in a new show at Youngstown State University! I’ll be playing the character of Virginia in the play, Early One Evening at the Rainbow Bar & Grille, by Bruce Graham. I’m so grateful to my director for casting me in another one of his shows. I learned so much from him during our Streetcar experience, and I can’t wait to begin rehearsals for this next play.

I’m also grateful to my friend and Streetcar costar, Tony, for convincing me to audition for this show. As Tony has pointed out, “convincing” is a rather light word for what really happened. He actually marched me down to the theater call board and signed me up for an audition time slot, not taking “no” for an answer. Thanks, Tony 😉 I’m thrilled to be working with you again, too! Seriously 😉

My misgivings about auditioning were pretty simple: I was trying to cut back on my crazy schedule, I was considering visiting family during spring break, and I frankly didn’t think there was a part in the show for me. But with rehearsals starting in late February, I will have time to breathe at the beginning of the semester; also, my internship will be drawing to a close as we start getting into the script. As far as spring break goes, it would have been nice to go to Florida, but I think another theatrical experience is very valuable for me. And I discovered that there was a part for me in the show, after all!

For those unfamiliar with the show (I had never heard of it myself!), this dark comedy occurs at the end of the world (very timely for 2012, haha) and focuses on a small group of people who have gathered at a bar in Pennsylvania awaiting their fates. Along comes a traveling salesman, known in divine circles as “God,” who instructs the bartender to rewrite the Bible and get it right this time around. My character, a high school physical education teacher, is the bartender’s romantic interest.

It will be an interesting challenge to read through the script and find ways to illuminate the humor, despite the dark, apocalyptic situation these characters face. I’m excited to begin working on this one!

The show runs April 5,6,7 and April 12, 13, 14, 15. Evening shows start at 7:30 p.m. and matinees start at 3:00 p.m. For tickets, call the university theater box office at 330-941-3105.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

