Stars Shining Bright Above Me…

Credit: Grayscale Photos

Hello, World!

It’s been absurdly long since my last post, but I promise this marks my return to semi-regular blogging! Since my last foray into the blogosphere, I graduated with my B.A. in Professional Writing & Editing from the fantastic Youngstown State University, where I was blessed to find lifelong friends and mentors while pursuing an insane amount of fulfilling activities. I also obtained my CNP status; that’s right, I’m now “licensed to change the world” as a Certified Nonprofit Professional. Look out; she’s loose!

This summer brought much-needed downtime and fun through family vacations to Florida and Chicago, along with days at the pool and nights at the drive-in. While I occasionally found myself at a loss for something to do (weird, I know), I really enjoyed catching up on extensive reading, bike riding, and social get-togethers. I also kept busy as the “hostess with the mostess” at Ruby Tuesday, greeting friendly guests and enjoying the company of wonderful coworkers.

This summer also marked my 22nd birthday, which was definitely memorable and complete with a trip to the Cheesecake Factory and gifts such as my very own ukulele! My Huron Playhouse friends will be pleased to hear that I’ve finally mastered the Drowsy reprise of “Stumble Along/Finale”…along with a few other simple tunes. Add “beginner ukulele” to the resume!

My activities from this past week have provided a fitting conclusion to my post-grad summer. I immensely enjoyed reuniting with high school, college, and professional friends (though I wish I could have seen more!). Activities from my action-packed week included:

  • Friendly gatherings at Starbucks, V2, Panera, Menchies, and family dinner at Los Gallos
  • Ladies day at Riverside Gardens
  • A family evening of Planes at the Elm Road Triple Drive-In
  • Last moments in poolside sunshine
  • Leisurely bike rides with Mom
  • Movie nights with my grandparents
  • Shooting Jamie Marich’s Dancing Mindfulness video with fabulous dancers and production crew…whilst finding inner peace!
  • Witnessing the students of Liz Rubino Studios work their magic with my “Steam Heat” at the Youngstown Playhouse
  • Feeling like an honorary tribe member of the fantastic Hair, performed by many talented friends at the Oakland Center for the Arts (peace, love, and flower power!). Being pelted by daisies during pre-show was very fun.
  • Reuniting with my Huron Playhouse colleagues and friends through brunch at the Yacht Club, an afternoon at Cedar Point, and a bonfire at the home of the incomparable Jann Glann!
  • Participating in Jones Dance Academy auditions this week, observing fresh young talent in their element!
  • Receiving my finished headshots (2013 edition) from the amazing Katie Gray. Check out her wonderful photography business, Grayscale Photos!
  • And lastly, visiting Casal’s later today for a much-needed hair appointment with the fabulous Jessica Yankush! A new haircut gives one a fresh outlook on life!

That’s right, folks. ONE WEEK in the life of Kayla Boye. It gets crazy.

HOWEVER- all of that excitement has built up to my most exciting news yet, which is my upcoming Development Internship with Chicago’s Goodman Theatre. I am incredibly grateful and excited to embark on this new chapter of my creative and professional life, putting the combination of my skills to use with the Windy City’s oldest, largest nonprofit theatre. During my recent visit, I met several welcoming and supportive contacts in the field, especially those at Steppenwolf and Hubbard Street Dance, and I can’t wait to continue forging positive relationships with this community of arts administrators, talented performers, engaged board members, and supportive donors.

So, many have asked, when is the “big move?” TOMORROW. Well, that came up fast! Not surprisingly, I am just now starting to pack. I’m viewing the process in a similar light as moving back into Cafaro House for fall semester– on one hand, I only need to pack essentials and clothing; on the other hand, should I happen to need something from home, I have a much longer drive to retrieve it this time around! I will be living with my uncle in Lisle, a short commute from the city, until mid-January.

After January…who knows? Most likely, I will continue making my mark on Chi-town and breaking into the nonprofit/theatre scenes. With the love and support of friends and family, I am very hopeful for what the future holds! You can be certain I will keep you posted on my adventures. In the meantime, check out my updated website, www.kaylaboye.com. XOXO!

Leave a Reply

