Good Times at the Goodman…and Around Town

Week One in Chicago: Check!

Wow! It’s already been over a week since I arrived in Chi-town. In that week, I have done the following awesome things:

Intern Orientation at the Goodman: Met amazing staff members and interns, toured two pristine performance spaces, saw the inner workings of backstage and beyond, and was wholly overwhelmed with the sheer amazingness of this opportunity.

The Jungle Book: Attended closing weekend of a truly beautiful musical (with comp tickets and fellow interns keeping wonderful company!). Fantastic choreography, lighting and scenic design, costumes, music, staging, adaptation, direction, and performances. The work of Mary Zimmerman and her production team made for a very rich cultural experience that successfully integrated elements of South Asian culture with the magic of Rudyard Kipling’s novel and Walt Disney’s film (with music by the wonderful Sherman Brothers). In short, the evening provided a fine introduction to the Goodman Theatre!

Also on that evening, I successfully navigated the city streets in my brave little Honda Fit. Actually, it wasn’t bad! I also found myself with some spare time before the show and visited Block 37, which houses the DISNEY store and Magnolia Bakery. That’s how I pre-show. 🙂

On Sunday, my uncle and I attended the Air and Water show and explored Old Town by Lincoln Park. Despite the lack of military planes at the event, there were several amazing displays by privately owned jets, stunt planes, and parachute teams.

This weekend, I went to Hubbard Street Dance Center and received my first (professionally discounted!) class card. I took a musical theater class and learned original choreography from Evita (“Buenos Aires”). Needless to say, I’m hurting today!

Actually, this weekend was rather eventful. In addition to dancing my feet off, I crashed my first Chicago street festival (Greektown), where I found a sweet evil eye keychain. I breezed through the Target next to HSDC and bought adorable office supplies for $5. AND, best of all, I finally found a new pair of nude pumps near Union Station! My other ones have seen better days, and I have been searching all summer for heels that are both comfortable and cute.

In short, I would call Week One a success. At the theatre, I have been familiarizing myself with policies and procedures, growing more confident with my duties and responsibilities. On evenings and weekends, I have been exploring the fantastic activities that the city and suburbs have to offer.

To quote Annie, I think I’m gonna like it here.

    Leave a Reply

    