Master Works: The Degas Plays

I’m excited to share that I will be performing with Commedia Beauregard in their upcoming Master Works: The Degas Plays. This is such a cool concept, featuring new six new plays by local playwrights inspired by the Impressionist paintings of Edgar Degas. My role will be based off Dancers at Rest, written by Cassandra Rose and directed by Abby Stark. The piece features ballet in dramatic context, one of my favorite concepts. I have a great fondness for theatrical ballets, such as those in Carousel, Oklahoma, and Fiddler, which I’ve either choreographed or performed. I can’t wait to further explore this idea with a great creative team.

Dancers at Rest (Dancers in Blue)

Dancers at Rest (Dancers in Blue)

Ballet provided my first introduction to performing, and this piece will allow me to return to my roots. Some of my best memories come from my time with Great Lakes Festival Ballet, performing with full orchestras, wonderful castmates, and nurturing directors. This training also provided a strong foundation for my dramatic pursuits. After all, a good dancer must emote, and a good actor must be self-aware.

This upcoming series of one-acts also makes me think of Gene Kelly’s brilliant ballet from An American in Paris, in which amazing, classic paintings are brought to stunning, Technicolored life. It’s one of my favorite films, and I seriously recommend a viewing. Coincidentally, CSO is performing the Gershwin score next week, and I’m so looking forward to soaking in that glorious live sound. It will be a welcome source of inspiration.

Master Works: The Degas Plays runs May 29 — June 1 at the Den Theatre. Tickets are on sale now.

Leave a Reply

